A Dark day on Derrybawn

A short ish walk this weekend. There has been some pain in the lower limbs, so I gave myself permission to chill a bit and only did a 10km hike to Derrybawn Mountain. Plus the weather forecast was to be what I would describe of as ‘naff’.
I am not sure if Derrybawn truly is a mountain in fairness, as it is not higher than 500m above sea level (it’s just shy at 474m ASL), but it’s an enjoyable hike nevertheless. It is listed as a mountain in multiple sources, so we will go with that!

Wicklow does have a lack of truly spectacular ridges, having only two – Derrybawn being one and Fananierin being the other. The walk I chose to do starts at the Upper Lake car park at Glendalough and involves following a section of The Wicklow Way (Ireland’s first waymarked long distance trail – 132km) beside the Poulanass waterfall.
Follow the ‘Little Yellow Man’ signposts for The Wicklow Way.LYM copy.jpg

Unfortunately, there has not been a significant rainfall event within the last few days, so the Lugduff Brook that feeds the Poulanass waterfall was not in spate. It is still worth a shot or two.

Poulanass I copy.jpg

The name Poulanass is taken from the Irish ‘Poll an Eas’ which translates to ‘hole of the waterfall’ I believe. It is easy to see how it got the name!Poulanass II copy.jpg

A little further on The Wicklow Way, we pass some majestic Scots Pine trees, native trees of Ireland. These are beautiful trees, and make a great change from the armies of Sitka Spruce plantations (there are many such plantations in Wicklow).Scots Pines copy.jpg

Without a full view of the sky at this point, one would be forgiven for thinking that this day was going to be a beautiful sunny day. But I knew better, I knew this was possibly the last piece of warm sunlight I would see before the clouds come marching in to ruin my fun! Yep, here they come!Clouds marching in copy.jpg

Still, a wonderful place to be even if the light isn’t great. I control everything on my camera, every setting. I use only manual focus (for landscapes) so I have absolute power over my tool. But I have no power over the weather. I am as feeble as this tree!Tree copy.jpg

Anyway, it’s always great to be out in the fresh air. Get a bit of exercise and enjoy nature. The journey today involves dropping The Wicklow Way after a switchback, to climb through a forest of Scots Pine trees. A rough enough track takes you straight up to Derrybawn itself.

Sometimes bad weather can really make great photographs – we will see this in winter when the higher summits in Wicklow have their snowy hat on! But for now, here are some grey skies and the top of Tonelagee (3rd highest mountain in Wicklow) in fog. Tonelagee remained in this state for the whole time I saw it today, not terribly unusual unfortunately.Grey Skies copy.jpg

A few small patches of warm sunlight break through over the flank of Camaderry Mountain. And yep, Tonelagee is wearing his fog hat. I prefer it when he wears his snow hat, but he won’t listen to my pleas.Pieces of sun copy.jpg

The view from near the summit of Derrybawn is impressive. On a clear day it is wonderful. From here you can see the Spinc (slightly left of center), Camaderry (beyond the lake) and the Upper Lake of Glendalough. Overcast copy.jpg
I created a timelapse at this spot today, quite challenging actually as it was pretty windy! I was hoping that the sun may pop out. It didn’t. But I do like how the clouds are whizzing past overhead – it’s kind of relaxing to watch! You can see it here on my Facebook page.

Time to return now. Derrybawn is a popular spot, which is a shame in many ways, the trail is very badly eroded and pretty mucky in places!Mucky copy.jpg

I was starving on the way down, but I was not tempted by these fellas. I would have no idea if they were safe to eat or not. I hate mushroom anyway! Don't eat! copy.jpg

Some nice views on the way back down. Nice view copy.jpg

Thanks for reading!

If you like what you see here please feel free to take a look at my portfolio site where you can see lots more of my work, or follow me on Facebook here!

6 thoughts on “A Dark day on Derrybawn

  1. Lovely photos. I feel like I have seen some of those Scots Pine over by Powerscourt which isn’t too far away either. They are lovely. Great photos.

    How did you get the water in your waterfalls to look so soft? Is that from your camera or post production?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

